President Attends Opening Of 31st ASEAN Summit

Pewarta :

President Attends Opening Of 31st ASEAN Summit

President Joko Widodo. (Antara Bali/Via ANTARA News/Bayu Prasetyo/wdy/2017)

Jakarta (Antara Bali) - President Joko Widodo attended the opening session of the 31st Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Summit held at the Philippine International Convention Center, Manila.

"Several agendas to be carried out by the president during the ASEAN Summit are a plenary session, the ASEAN plus meetings, and the ASEAN luncheon," according to a press release from Deputy of Protocol, Press, and Media of the Presidential Secretariat Bey Machmudin received by Antara here on Monday.

The opening ceremony of the 31st ASEAN Summit will be held at 10 a.m. local time.

The president will also attend several forums, including the ASEAN Leader's Interface with the ASEAN Business Advisory Council, ASEAN-US Summit, ASEAN-China Summit, ASEAN-Korea Summit, ASEAN-Japan Summit, and the forum of APT Leaders' lnterface with the East Asia Business Council.

Foreign Affairs Minister Retno Marsudi had noted on Sunday (Nov 12) that President Widodo will follow 11 agendas on the first day of the ASEAN Summit.

Meanwhile, on the second day of the ASEAN Summit, Widodo will attend 10 meetings.

"The president will attend a series of at least 21 agenda-specific meetings on these two days during the ASEAN Summit," Marsudi remarked.

Coordinating Minister of the Politics, Law, and Security Sector Wiranto; Coordinating Minister of the Economy Sector Darmin Nasution; and Coordinating Minister of Cultural and People Development Sector Puan Maharani accompanied the president during the opening ceremony of the 31st ASEAN Summit.

Moreover, Foreign Affairs Minister Marsudi, Cabinet Secretary Pramono Anung, Trade Minister Enggartiasto Lukita, Minister of Employment Hanif Dhakiri, Head of the Investment Coordination Board Thomas Lembong, and Indonesian Ambassador for the Philippines Johny Lumintang accompanied Widodo during the event. (WDY)
Editor: Edy M Yakub