Best Minister Award a burden: Mulyani

Pewarta : Reported by Agus Salim

Best Minister Award a burden: Mulyani

Finance Minister Sri Mulyani Indrawati. (ANTARA FOTO/Andreas Fitri Atmoko/wdy)

Jakarta (Antaranews Bali) - Indonesian finance minister Mulyani said here, Monday, that the `Best Minister in the World Award` she received recently from the World Government Summit was a big burden for her.

"I had been invited to the summit, as I would be given an award as the best minister in the world. Wow, it`s a serious title. That`s a burden for me," she exclaimed from the presidential palace compound while commenting on the award.

She explained that the World Government Summit had asked independent consultant Ernst & Young to evaluate ministers in the world who deserved an award as the best minister.

The criteria, method and selection of nominees were fully determined by Ernst & Young.

After searching through various sources, they finally shortlisted eight nominees and "then they received feedback from across the world, including from private parties, mass media, social media and investors, who then determined who would be the best minister," she said.

Minister Mulyani thanked President Joko Widodo for having given her the opportunity to perform optimally.

"The leadership of the President and his reform effort have given us the opportunity to focus on fundamental issues, and that is what is being seen," she noted.

Mulyani said that the award was actually the result of joint reform efforts. "My name merely happened to emerge. Certainly, it gave pride to all personnel of the ministry of finance," she added.

She hoped the award would further motivate the personnel of the finance ministry to make the national budget better and state finance more efficient and effective for the people.

President Joko Widodo also congratulated Mulyani for receiving the award during the cabinet meeting.

Finance minister Mulyani received the award at the World Government Summit in Dubai, the United Arab Emirates.

The global award has been given to one minister every year since 2016. (WDY)
Editor: Edy M Yakub